Bobby Ewing – “I’m Larry Hagman”

About The Woman - a perfect example of how a woman picutures her man

About The Woman – Duffy & Hagman, Dallas

A salute to one of USA’s biggest TV stars – Larry Hagman. The character that Larry Hagman played of course was J.R. Ewing, the TV villain everyone loved to hate. Dallas of course was well before my time, as I’m way too young! But to those of you that can remember the first time around and to the young guys like me (really!) who’ve seen the reruns Larry Hagman will always be a star!

There’s already been many accolades pouring in from the media, friends, family and his fellow cast memebers, on his life, persona and work. But I would like to celebrate his life in a different way. Through a story I once heard about him, which was actually one of the funniest celeb stories I’ve ever heard.

It was years ago back in the days when I actually watched TV, a long time before I became addicted to the internet. At the time I was probably bored because I was flicking through the channels like a man with a nervous tick, when I saw Patrick Duffy, he walking onto a talk show. Firstly I was struck at how damn good he was aging (still a woman’s heart throb), secondly by how chilled out and genuinely funny he was. The host was going through the normal questions, and somehow they got onto the topic of stories. It went something like this…

Patrick Duffy was walking down a corridor in some studio or something. He’d just left his dressing room and he suddenly had the urge to relieve himself. Larry Hagman’s dressing room was nearby, but then he spied a toilet for the physically impaired – which was not being used. If I’m being totally honest, in an emergency I have done the exactly same thing. So here he is, he pops into the toilet closes the door and does his business, when there’s a loud rapping sound on the door. The guy outside was righteously angry because he had a damn good idea that the user (Duffy) was not let say, a “priority user” for that facility. Apparently there was a lot of cursing from the other side of the door. Duffy comes out, and there’s an angry old man outside. In my mind’s eye I can just picture this, because Duffy is a tall a chappy and pretty famous, but the old man was totally unphased and still pretty cheesed off! So he rants and threatens to report Duffy or something similar. The guy looks at Duffy vehemently and demands, “what’s your name!” Duffy thinks about it for a moment, and says “Larry Hagman” and walks off.

Of course Duffy and Hagman, were the best of friends from the very first moment they shook hands, which makes the story all the better. Luckily for us Hagman has left us with a fantastic body of work, which we can continue to enjoy.

Leave a Reply

