Social Media Resolutions Follow Up

About The Woman - Twitter Tool

by James G. Milles, Flickr.com

It’s been approximately 2 weeks since my 11 social media resolutions post. It was actually one of my visitors Mark (nice blog btw) who inadvertently reminded me. I have to admit normally my determination would have flagged by now. But this year it’s different! Not sure why, but it is.

So what’s “About The Womangot to do with social media. Well simply the more people who come to this space the better it is for my blog. So it’s all connected and perhaps by reading my experiences, it can help you out too.

Nuts and bolts – 2 weeks ago you could’ve said there wasn’t much going on between About The Woman and Twitter. I followed 11 people and 3 followed me, one of which was my other Twitter account. Things were looking dismal – Twitter was a lead balloon. That was the real motivation behind my post, a kind of self help therapy session for my blog.

Research – Last week I still felt I needed to know something more. The end goal for me is to be using several social media platforms to push this blog. My theory is that the potential of social media is massive for any blog. Of that’s not forgetting good blog content, which most experts agree is the most crucial part.

Choosing my platforms – My first target is to get to grips with Twitter, even though Facebook has almost 3 times the number of users. There’s something about the short, snappy way of communicating that appeals to me. Looks can be deceiving though, on the face of things it might look a simpler way of communicating, but it’s not.

With Twitter everything has to be concise, informative and engaging. How do you do that in 140 characters? It’s hard. My approach is to circulate news from other sites that are related to mine and I merely wrap a short snappy sentence around that. Rightly or wrongly it’s my strategy for now.

Do I trawl through dozens of my favorite blogs everyday? Yes and no. I use a RSS feed called Feeddemon, it’s free, unless you want to upgrade. I spent one whole weekend going through all my favorite sites etc, pasted their RSS icon into the Feedemon’s window. Now everytime I start I get 100’s of new article to harvest from.

Know your audience – I must recommend this article from Mashable one of the best online articles I’ve read. Basically it states that most people who market on Twitter, do it wrong. Did you know if you tweet at different times you have a higher chance of hooking your target? Well that’s the main thing I got from this article. So now I try to tweet at my target’s prime times. Even though I live in Hong Kong, I aim for the North America audience mainly.

Do I stay up all night tweeting? Hell no, I use Tweetdeck. This program allows you to do many different things, the best part for me is the ability to schedule my posts. I set it up and hopefully my blog will reap the benefits of my tweets while I sleep.

Making a schedule – I made one and surprisingly I stick to it. It’s basically first thing in the morning. I arrive at my office one hour earlier, and do my social media stuff. Between 8 to 10pm in the evening I tackle my blog.

It’s not pefect – It’s not, but I remain flexible and with try other platforms and methods until I get the results I want for About The Woman. So you’re dying to know. Well unless you’ve added me already (I’m not hinting) then you won’t know but, I’ve done 130 tweets, follow 136 people and have a whopping 124 followers. I haven’t been that aggressive for following people either. So it’s not bad.

There has been some hits from Twitter to my blog directly. Even though there’s been a general upwards trend, I’m not sure if I can contribute that to twitter or not. Good luck with your social media adventure! Let me know how you are getting on.

About The Woman

9 thoughts on “Social Media Resolutions Follow Up

  1. thanxgoodinfo.I am a newbie blogger trying to work it all out. writing stuff about the process of blogging and tweeting is all good. Its always good to get the good oil from an old hand ya da ya da
    ya da

    • Im still working it all out as well, I’ve a read a lot about it.. but there’s so much to learn. Although it’s a great subject ^^ just find what works for you. Pinterest works well for a lot of people, google + too. Step by step.

    • Hi Katmwehr I’m very happy to have read your post. Writing novels and stories is really hard going and you have to take inspiration where you can find it. Have you seen one of my favorite blogs http://cristianmihai.net/ it’s really worth checking out. He writes a lot about writing, and it a very good blogger too. Welcome back to my site again ^^

  2. Morgan,

    Thank you so much for liking my post! And thanks for the informative social media information. I’d love to connect with other individuals dealing with the same challenges. I’m enjoying your blog’s focus 😛

  3. Thanks for stopping by my blog. I’ll come back and check more of your posts when I get a chance. I live in Taiwan and our semester starts tomorrow. But I’ll try to get here soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

